Friday, July 29, 2011

Postal Reform and the Debt Ceiling Vote

Last night, the House of Representatives put off a vote on Speaker Boehner's bill to cut the deficit and raise the debt ceiling.   An examination of Republican members on the The Subcommittee on Federal Workforce, U.S. Postal Service and Labor Policy and the full Oversight and Government Reform committee shows that Republicans that will be crafting postal reform legislation are among the most conservative members of the House of Representative. 

The vote on the Speaker's bill was put off because the Speaker could not convince 216 Republicans to vote for his bill.  Six of the seven Republicans on The Subcommittee on Federal Workforce, U.S. Postal Service and Labor Policy, that will have the responsibility for reviewing Postal Service reform laws are among the 26 or 27 Republicans planning to vote no.  While only 11% of all Republicans plan to vote against the Speaker, 86% of Republican subcommittee members plan to vote that way.

The list compiled by Think Progress is below with members of the subcommittee highlighted in red.
Republicans Committed or Leaning to Vote No 

1. Todd Akin (R-MO) [The Hill]
2. Justin Amash (R-MI) [The Hill] 3. Michele Bachmann (R-MN) [ThinkProgress]
4. Paul Broun (R-GA) [Call to office]
5. Jason Chaffetz (R-UT) [The Hill] 6. Jeff Duncan (R-SC) [The State]
7. Jeff Flake (R-AZ) [Twitter]
8. Trent Franks (R-AZ) [National Journal]
9. Phil Gingrey (R-GA) [Twitter]
10. Louis Gohmert (R-TX) [National Review]
11. Trey Gowdy (R-SC) [NYT]
12. Tom Graves (R-GA) [Twitter]
13. Andy Harris (R-MD) [Baltimore Sun]
14. Tim Huelskamp (R-KS) [The Hill]
15. Steve King (R-IA) [The Hill]
16. Jim Jordan (R-OH) [The Hill] 17. Jeff Landry (R-LA) [National Review]
18. Connie Mack (R-FL) [Politico]
19. Mick Mulvaney (R-SC) [The Hill]
20. Ron Paul (R-TX) [Call to office]
21. Dennis Ross (R-FL) [National Review] 22. Steve Southerland (R-FL) [RCP]
23. Joe Walsh (R-IL) [MSNBC]
24. Joe Wilson (R-SC) [National Journal]
25. Tim Scott (R-SC) [Fox News, 4:20PM]
26. Tom McClintock (R-CA) [KBFK Radio]
27. Michael Turner (R-OH)  (The Hill) who is leanning to vote no

Looking at the full committee, there are two members beyond those on the subcommittee committed or leaning towards a no vote. (No votes are highlighted in red on the list of members below.) Of the 23 Republicans on the full committee, 35% are either committed or leaningtowards a no vote.  This is more than three times the proportion of Republicans in the House planning to vote against the Speaker.

Oversight and Government Reform Committee
Chair: Darrell Issa (CA-49)
Justin Amash (MI-3
Anna Marie Burkle (NY-25)
Dan Burton (IN-5)
Jason Chaffetz (UT-3)
Scott DesJarlais (TN-4)
Paul Gosar (AZ-1)
Trey Gowdy (SC-4)
Frank Guinta (NH-1)
Blake Farenthold (TX-27)
Jim Jordan (OH-4)
Mike Kelly (PA-3)
Raul Labrador (ID-1)
James Lankford (OK-5)
Connie Mack (FL-14)
Pat Meehan (PA-7)
John Mica (FL-7)
Patrick McHenry (NC-10)
Todd Platts (PA-19)
Dennis Ross (FL-12)
Michael Turner (OH-3)
Tim Walberg (MI-7)
Joe Walsh (IL-8)

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

In light of the fact that the USPS receives no federal dollars, it has no impact on the debt ceiling. Connecting the two is disenguous. The federal government steals too much money from US citizens and businesses and then wastes it. What don't these idiot get??